Category Archives: About us

Staff

Delyth Prys
Head of Unit
d.prys@bangor.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1248 3832800

Dewi Bryn Jones
Senior Software Engineer
d.b.jones@bangor.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1248 383245

Gruffudd Prys
Terminologist and Manager of the Termiadur Addysg Project
g.prys@bangor.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1248 383559

Tegau Andrews
Terminologist and Manager of the Higher Education Terminology Project
t.andrews@bangor.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1248 388618

David Chan
Software Engineer
d.chan@bangor.ac.uk

Mared Roberts
DECHE Project Officer
mared.roberts@bangor.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1248 382092

Stefano Ghazzali
Software Engineer
s.ghazzali@bangor.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1248 388226

 

Projects

Current  and Recent Projects

About

Prifysgol_D303689

 

Canolfan Bedwyr‘s Language Technology Unit is a self-funded research unit that develops digital language resources and tools for the Welsh language, the Celtic languages, and for multilingual situations in general.

cwmwl_geiriau_glaswyrdd_fflatThe Unit is responsible for Cysgliad, a package containing a Welsh language spellchecker, a grammar checker, and a collection of comprehensive dictionaries, and has also developed numerous other language proofing tools.

The Unit undertakes terminology standardization work, and develops electronic dictionaries for a range of subject fields on a variety of platforms, including websites and apps.

The Unit also develops speech technology for Welsh and other languages, and maintains place-name databases on the web.

In addition, the Unit develops computer-based learning aids, including language games.

The Unit has close connections with a number of academic departments within Bangor University, including Welsh, Linguistics, Modern Languages, Sociology and Healthcare Sciences. In 2016 the Unit was one of the founders of the Technology and Language Research Network  at Bangor, which brings together researchers in this field.

It also had close connections with business and industry, and undertakes Knowledge Transfer Partnerships (KTPs).